ILDSA Annual Awards

The ILDSA (Irish Long Distance Swimming Association), held their annual awards last week. The association asks for nominations and then sets up an expert panel to mull over the submissions.

This year we had MANY Cork swimmers (Cork based, or Cork by association!), who were either nominated or winners or acknowledged on the day.

WELL DONE TO ALL SWIMMERS for making it on the list, as a nominee or winner, you were in great company with other swimmers around the country.

Here’s to a great season of Open Water Swimming in 2018.

List from the ILDSA is below:

  • Senior Best Newcomer Winner:  Brendan O’Brien
    Nominees: Donna Galvin, Lisa McDaniel, Elaine Burrows-Dillane
  • Best Organised Open Water Swim Winner:  Rebel Plunge  (Liam Maher, Paschal Horgan, Carol Cashell)
    Nominees: Lee Swim, Grand Dublin Swim, Tralee Bay Swim, Lough Gill
  • Munster Open Water Swimmer of the Year Winner:  Carol Cashell
    Nominees: Aidan O’Herlihy, Anthony Sloman, Carmel Collins, Elaine Burrows- Dillane, Maeve Ryan
  • Sheena Patterson Spirit of Open Water Swimming Winner:  Ned Denison
    Nominees: Audrey Joyce
  • Margaret Smith Award Winner:  Ned Denison
    Nominees: Fergal Somerville
  •  Best Open Water Swim Performance of the Year Winner:  Ion Lazarenco Tiron
    Nominees: Carmel Collins, Carol Cashell, Tralee Bay Masters EC Relay Team
  •  Male Swimmer of the Year Winner: Ion Lazarenco Tiron
    Nominees: Anthony Sloman, Christopher Judge, Ned Denison
  •  Female Swimmer of the Year Winner:  Carol Cashell
    Nominees: Carmel Collins, Maeve Ryan, Roisin Kelly

Commemorative Medals were also awarded for all solo and relay North and English Channel swims from 2017.

North Channel Solo Swim 2017Carmel Collins

English Channel Solo Swim 2017Carol Cashell and Nathan Timmins

English Channel Relay Teams 2017:

Two Way Relay: Myrtle Selkies – Laurence Courtney, John Kiely, Harry Casey, Ann Smyth, Brenda Sisk, Marie Watson

 One way Relay: (part of UK Team) – Audrey Burkley

Finally, a number of honour swimmers and contributors were inducted into the newly-formed Hall of Fame-Marathon Swimming Ireland.

Hall of Fame – Marathon Swimming Ireland Inductees:  Lisa Cummins,  Eilis Burns

This entry was posted in Sandycove Swim Club. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s